The High Life After 50

I once asked my mother if she felt “different” at 51 (I was 20-something at the time), and her answer surprised me. She said that she felt the same inside as she always had and that the person looking back at her in the mirror often caught her off-guard because she always expected to see the person she was inside. I guess I expected that as we grew older on the outside, we changed inside to match – that your insecurities and fears somehow faded and a calm self-assurance took their place. At least, that’s what it looked like from the outside.

I am now 54 years old and I get it. I feel the same surprise when I look in the mirror or see a photo of myself… good God! Who is that old woman? I don’t know why I’m surprised because along with the gray hair and crow’s feet, come a remarkable number of annoying little ailments:

  • An iffy lower back that will “go out” at the most inconvenient times, rendering me useless to help with groceries, moving boxes, etc.
  • An old knee injury that reminds me “I’m still here!” when I step wrong or – heaven forbid- try to jog!
  • Achy joints.

Although these little ailments pale in comparison to others’ and losing 20lbs would go far in easing the pain, it set me on a path of discovery. Could whole food, plant-based diet and a bit of therapeutic marijuana help me feel as good in my body as I do in my mind? The answer is an enthusiastic YES! It can, it does, and it’s getting easier all the time. I hope you’ll find the blog helpful in providing easy-to-understand facts about the medicinal use of marijuana and the many ways of enjoying it.

Don’t worry…you will NOT become a 50-something version of Cheech and Chong, I promise!

😉

CannabisFor50Plus

Leave a Reply

